top of page

Fantasy Book Club

  • You are invited to: Fantasy Book Club

  • This is a book group for those who love to get lost in a good fantasy book! Explore new worlds, travel in the mind's eye to exciting places of magic and excitement. Books will be young adult in age bracket but can be enjoyed by just about everyone.

  • Age group: Teen & Young Adult

  • Book Club leader: Sarah Crosby

  • Meetings: Second Wednesday of each month @ 2:30pm.

  • First meeting (Intro): February 8th @ 2:30pm.

  • Enjoy: Snacks & beverages served.

  • Books: Books provided by the Washburn Memorial Library (no cost to participants)

  • Sign Up: Please sign up (no fee) by email (washburnmainelibrary@gmail.com), phone (455-4814) or Facebook message us.

  • Located: Washburn Memorial Library, downstairs in the Barbara Porter Room.

  • First book: Sabriel, by Garth Nix - https://www.amazon.com/Sabriel-Old-Kingdom-Garth-Nix/dp/0062315552 

0062315552.01._SCLZZZZZZZ_SX500_.jpg

Teatime Book Club

Do you like the idea of savoring a cup of tea while discussing a good read?  If you said YES to this question, then please join us for our upcoming virtual Teatime Book Club every month (except July & August) via Zoom @ 12pm.  * To sign up, please call or email Cara at Washburn Memorial Library #207-455-4814.

 

 

Book Club participants can purchase a Book Club Bag,

which includes:

  • Current book we are reading for the month ($10 to purchase a copy).

  • An array of tea + honey sticks.

  • A monthly print out/card with updates about our Teatime Book Club.

  • To Do's: Sign up for the month, reserve a Book Club Bag (optional- $10 to purchase), start reading your book, and mark your calendar for our virtual meeting!

  • If you reserved one, please pick up your Teatime Book Club bag at the Washburn Memorial Library (Open 10am - 4:30pm, Tuesday - Friday).

 

January's Book: Miss Eliza's English Kitchen: A Novel of Victorian Cookery and Friendship

By Annabel Abbs

In a novel perfect for fans of Hazel Gaynor’s A Memory of Violets and upstairs-downstairs stories, Annabel Abbs, the award-winning author of The Joyce Girl, returns with the brilliant real-life story of Eliza Acton and her assistant as they revolutionized British cooking and cookbooks around the world.

Before Mrs. Beeton and well before Julia Child, there was Eliza Acton, who changed the course of cookery writing forever.

England, 1835. London is awash with thrilling new ingredients, from rare spices to exotic fruits. But no one knows how to use them. When Eliza Acton is told by her publisher to write a cookery book instead of the poetry she loves, she refuses—until her bankrupt father is forced to flee the country. As a woman, Eliza has few options. Although she’s never set foot in a kitchen, she begins collecting recipes and teaching herself to cook. Much to her surprise she discovers a talent – and a passion – for the culinary arts.

Eliza hires young, destitute Ann Kirby to assist her. As they cook together, Ann learns about poetry, love and ambition. The two develop a radical friendship, breaking the boundaries of class while creating new ways of writing recipes. But when Ann discovers a secret in Eliza’s past, and finds a voice of her own, their friendship starts to fray.

Based on the true story of the first modern cookery writer, Miss Eliza’s English Kitchen is a spellbinding novel about female friend­ship, the struggle for independence, and the transcendent pleasures and solace of food.

(Source: Amazon.com )

Poetry Reading
s-l500.jpg
Tea Time

Tea provided in your Book Club Bag!

Email: washburnmainelibrary@gmail.com 

Phone # 207-455-4814

Meeting: January 25th @ 12pm 

Location: Virtual/Zoom.  Link will be emailed once you sign up.

Fee: Free minus the cost of purchasing your book(s).

Book Choices: Trending books and the process of facilitator & group suggestions.

 

bottom of page